‘To the world you may be one person but to me you are the world’

I’ve never understood how people can throw around the sentence of ‘she is just a mother’ because ‘JUST’ a mother is not all that she is.

She is a teacher, a protector, a nurse, an entertainer, a cleaner, a chef, an arts and craft maker, a superhero. 

And those people who say she is ‘just a mother’ could never do the job and many roles she has to play.

_____________________________________________________________

You were there to catch me for my first fall, kissed my bruises better and sealed them with your love.

You wiped away my first tear and taught me how to bunny loop to tie my shoes.

You watched on and giggled as I attacked your makeup and played dress ups.

You told me everything was going to be okay and because you’re my superwoman I always believed you.

You believed in me and fought for me when push came to shove.

You held me when I cried when boys hurt me and you told me how special I was in this big wide world.

You inspired me to work hard and be the best I could be.

You taught me to be brave, be strong, follow my dreams and never be a pushover.

I saw how much you sacrificed for us growing up, whether you had to go without food or clothes just so we could have them or when dad would become violent you immediately sheltered us and would put yourself between us and him.

The strength of a Mother is the greatest strength I have ever witnessed. The amount of heartache, struggle and pain I have seen her endure is more than some could in their lifetime.

But she picks herself up, wipes away those tears, adjusts her armour and soldiers on for her children, to raise, teach and protect them.

As a child you made me feel safe and secure.

As an adult you are my heart, soul and strength.

It feels like we are slowly going through some transition of role reversal where I now find myself automatically protecting you as were both growing older,but you are still my confidant, advise giver and shoulder to cry on.

When you hurt I hurt, when you cry I cry and when you smile I smile.

I promise Mum I will do whatever it takes to forever see a smile on your face, because your happiness is my happiness.

Thank you for being my Mum and my Dad.

Thank you for loving me fiercely.

Thank you for giving me your all.

Thank you for making me who I am.

‘A woman’s strength isn’t just about how much she can handle before she breaks..It’s also about how much she must handle after she’s broken’

You are the woman I aspire to be for my own children in future.

You only have one Mother, so cherish her, love her and appreciate her every single day.

I love you Mum.

-DestinationHappy

